or Connect

Posts by Bazza

Jevan your day sounded very eventful, I take my hat off to you. You must have incredible patience working with these guys. I hope your beer was good and your girlfriend gives you a break. keep up the good work dude.
I am not sure if you are looking for a souffle or a cake but I can see how souffles are problematic on that scale. Any kitchen will struglle with the complexity of getting that volume of soffles out in a busy service.   I am not sure of the US terminology but I am guessing that lava cake is a sponge with a molten middle. In the UK we call this a fondant and I would reccomend a google search. Here is one I have used which has consistent results and has a 10 minute cooking...
Knowledge can be taught, skills can be taught. Attitude cannot be taught. My answer is a positive attitude.
I am now a retired chef but I have great memories of getting lost in mountains of prep. I loved to see the fresh produce coming in, particularly fish. the sound of knives on boards, the aroma of lemon zest, thyme, garlic. The kitchen banter, singing and crude jokes. The ticking of prep lists and the cooking of meats. I could have my back to the whole kitchen and my nose and ears would tell me exactly what was going on. I would almost be in a state of meditation before the...
When you need to peel a lot of garlic, break the cloves fron the head and place them into a bowl, then place another bowl over this upside down. Hold the two bowls together and give them a good shake. Works a treat, I never believed it until I tried it. The skin comes clean off and you just need to pick out the cloves.