or Connect

Posts by Luc_H

Hi Petals,No I'm not a pro baker just a food science guy that enjoys all facets of food making, tasting and eating (oh and history). As for the salt issue, I believe that salt is a modern ingredient which was seldom used as frivolously in XVIIIth century.  Why it is not included now in recipes? probably because of tradition since recipes tend to be handed down like oral history.  I also believe it is not necessary to add because, as already mentioned, génoise are like a...
As I remember, a Génoise is a cake that has no leavening agents other than the air incorporated into eggs as per Panini and this reference: http://culinaryarts.about.com/od/glossary/g/Genoise.htm (adding butter is optional)   there is an interesting difference between the Wiki entries in French and English whereas in English a genoise is described as a sponge like cake but in French they refer it as a dry light airy biscuit (cookie/wafer) used to make layer cakes. In...
I found Dobzre's recipe on the web.... maybe easier to read. http://www.popsugar.com/food/How-Make-Caramel-Candies-21745974   Because of the temperature required to make and pour caramel, it would be difficult to make a soft caramel then trying to fill it with real chocolate while still hot but filling with chocolate caramel would be easier. The way I would approach making chocolate inside caramel (like an éclair) candy would be by making three layers: pour a first...
Éclairs! I found these:   Luc H.
 Caramel making requires precise technique and temperature control.  There are many variations of caramels out there from hard brittle glasslike to dripping flowy spreadable passing through soft chewy.  Each variation requires a different technique.can you describe the candy? was it a chocolate fondant inside a hard candy like caramel? Luc H.
Chris, that product is chocolate covered caramel, Alex here is referring to a caramel covered chocolate i.e. the reverse.Luc H.