or Connect

Posts by Elfin

Cake flour has the least amount of gluten-forming proteins... probably your shortbread will turn out ok if you use AP but will not be as soft and crumbly as the recipe intends. I think the texture differences between cake/pastry/AP/bread and especially hi-gluten are absolutely dramatic... but with something like a shortbread, you should be ok. As far as I know, there is no conversion required... just substitute flour pound for pound and the only difference is the...
I posted this fascinating and quite negative article about an LCB in another thread, but I'll repost it here since this thread is right on topic! wweek.com/editorial/3405/10113 I am a CC student and we run a restaurant too... not only that, but also a cafeteria, off-site catering and a full-service bakery. All students are rotated thru all areas, and many opportunities exist to participate in various extra events. From what I've seen of the local LCB, there are not...
Published today, this interesting article sums up pretty much everything I've ever heard about Western Culinary Institute, which is the Le Cordon Bleu school in Portland, Oregon. A very in-depth article about specific complaints from former students. wweek.com/editorial/3405/10113 You will have to cut and paste this, as this site won't allow me to post links, for some reason. I am a CC student, and in contrast, my tuition for the entire year's program is $3,000....
In my course of couverture study, we use a much higher percentage of chocolate to heavy cream in a ganache formula for truffle fillings, instead of equal amounts. So I do think you chose the correct solution here... just add more chocolate. I have never heard of tempering ganache (only bringing it to working temp, not to exceed 90 degrees F if you are filling shelled molds), nor a need to bring the liquor up to a certain temp, nor that refrigeration ruins ganache?? I'm...