or Connect

Posts by Penguin

As a home cook I make large batches of caramelized onions, then freeze them flat in quart size ziplock bags.  They freeze great and you can easily break off a chunk.  I generally break off a 2 inch chunk of onion, finely dice while they are still partially frozen, then thrown them in my dish.  It saves so much time prepping for dinner.  They have never been mushy.    I follow the same set up for roasting chili's and freezing them for later to save on prep time.  
I usually cook several pizzas all in one night.  We eat one fresh out of the oven for dinner, then slice the remaining pizza's and freeze them already cooked.  When we need a quick meal from the freezer, I pull out a few slices.  Let them thaw for just a few minutes, then broil at 500F for 4-5 minutes.  It reheats nicely and you get a re-crisping of the crust.  It's the best option we've found so far.  Honestly nothing beats a homemade pizza right off the pizza stone...
I experimented with a bread maker for a year with new recipes each month and disliked everything I made. I felt like it didn’t do a good enough job kneading the dough- I could taste milk, flour, yeast- not bread. I gave it away and found a large bowl and wooden spoon did a better job at kneading. Like others have mentioned I was frustrated with odd loaf shape that was challenging to be useful and with the paddle creating a hole in the bottom of the loaf. My favorite...
I have been very pleased with my Cuisinart with the freezer bowl as well.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I didn't mean to cause offense, I was just curious on your experience and thoughts with the ingredients.