or Connect

Posts by D.C.

The description of the Late Night Cafe reads, "A general forum to discuss all non-food/cooking related topics." Not only was I surprised when the site administrator closed the discussion on local economics but I was also a bit put off when he said that people were being offended and that those of us who wanted to have such discussions should go post elsewhere. I was unaware of the ban on "political" postings. From the replies that followed, I don't think anyone was...
I don't see a problem as long as you have the physical capability and stamina to do the job. I was an elementary teacher for 17 years. After spending 8 consecutive years teaching at exclusive overseas schools, I found that I couldn't make the adjustment back to public education. I went to culinary school, got a job as a line cook, and eventually became a working chef at the age of 43. I am now 48 and I'm back in the school system ... but am now working as a high school...
In general, a food prep cook prepares food to be further cooked or combined with other ingredients. For example, in a casual dining restaurant like Bob Evans, a food prep cook: * heats packaged soups and mashed potatoes * makes packaged sauces, crepe batter, pancake batter, and waffle batter * trays and bakes biscuits * prepares scrambled egg mix * chops greens and assembles the garden salad mix * follows packaged instructions for the final assembly of ready made...
If the president elect holds true to his campaign promises, his presidency will usher in the biggest Federal jobs work program that we've seen since the days of FDR's New Deal. Where is the funding going to come from if half of our Federal budget is already earmarked for bailout packages? I didn't vote for Senator Obama ... but with this being said, he's the president elect and we're all on the same sinking ship. Now hear this! Abandon ship! Abandon ship! Chef...