or Connect

Posts by coolcheech

Thanks for the reply italchef and ED. I'm not a grocer ... yet. Right now I have a lot of experience in retail/wholesale, albeit in the home furnishing industry ... and it's not working for me. I've always loved cooking and the adventure of trying new foods, and I came very, very, very close to leaving my job and going to culinary school about 5 months ago. After weighing all the pros and cons, I gave up on it. To me, I just felt like all the passion in the world isn't...
I tried it. One, I used the wrong bread. I used, I think, an Italian bread with sesame seeds on top. It had a hard crust and a dense center so it was overpowering. Two, I tried making it five different ways. 1. Sardines, melted Brie, thin sliced cucumber 2. Sardines, melted Smoked Gouda, thin sliced cucumber 3. Sardines, melted Brie 4. Sardines, melted Smoked Gouda and based on ED's recommendation, and why the **** not? 5. Sardines, peanut butter, thin sliced...
I'm trying to come up with some unique sandwich recipes and I'm trying to pair something with sardines. I got the idea of melted brie with sardines, has anyone tried this combination? When doing some research I found a smoked salmon/brie sandwich and that sounds delicious; but comparing salmon to sardines is like comparing apples and oranges.
I searched the forums (and elsewhere), and keep seeing the numbers 30%, 33%, 35% to hit as your food costs. UNLESS, the item with the 48% food cost is bringing you in $15/plate profit then the item with the 27% food cost that's bringing you in $8/plate profit. That being said ... once you've settled in on your place, your overhead costs, payroll costs, cost of products, what is the math to figure out how much you actually need to sell of your product, and at what price,...