or Connect

Posts by Leslie Mansfield

Dear Phil, While I love to cook outdoors, I am not an expert on Dutch oven cooking. I have always used Lodge Cast Iron's wonderful products and I know they have several good books on the subject. It must be wonderful to be Scoutmaster! My nephew is 8-years-old I am trying to convince my sister to get him into scouting. Unfortunately her work schedule makes it difficult for after school activities. Leslie
Dear Jodi, For me as a nonfictiong writer, I actually use a spiral notebook for my jottings, then put the finished recipes in filing cabinest under files such as cookies cakes, etc. Perhaps a creative writing course at a community college or books on writing fiction could help. Leslie
Dear Mezzaluna, The best way to find an agent is to go to a literary symposiam. I knpo of two: Maui Writers Conference and there is a new on up in the San juan Islands. My editor goes to these and other conferences specifically to meet new authors. You might check on the internet for these since I don't kno much about them. Add what you are diong by checking the Literary Marketplase and the Writers Market is a good way to find the publishers that print your type of...
Dear Nicko, A career in food writing is incredibly interesting and fun. It is always different and hey, you get to eat your words! I would say to get started, you should find a subject that you are passionate about and begin developing recipes and headnotes. Pretty soon a book or proposal for a book will take shape. When developing recipes (I try to develop 4 new recipes a week) make sure that you take exact notes so that you can write them up on you computer...