or Connect

Posts by Powerdog

Foodpump, thanks! That's just the kind of clear, rational (!) explanation I was hoping for. 
This is an interesting document, as it explains how the device is positioned in its marketing.   http://www.springer.com/cda/content/document/cda_downloaddocument/9783540791836-c1.pdf?SGWID=0-0-45-554313-p173817964   Two things mentioned are the lean organization concept and "de-skilling" those cooking technques that normally require advanced skills. So I think it's partly a device that chefs can enjoy playing with, and also a process automator that low level staff can...
Just curious how it's justified as a business investment.
While browsing a restaurant supply catalog (as an amateur myself), I came across this:   http://www.rational-online.com/en_usa/products/produkte_neu/der_neue_rational/index.html   While the description emphasizes its usefulness for a chef/cook, I wonder if it's more to make lower-paid staff capable of turning out portions of the chef's creations without knowing much about cooking.   Have you used one of these, or seen it in action?
My guesses about this are:   1. They all compete by minimizing costs for customer service and fulfillment. 2. A late or wrong order is a serious matter if the item essential to a business. Not like getting the wrong novel from Amazon. So some places will get 5 stars from one customer and 1 from another. 3. Most customers, if they have no experience or at least no bad experience with a company, shop mostly on price. My kind of compulsive research before ordering is just...
FSW is going out of biz. No returns, and horrible comments on Glassdoor from former employees. I used them years ago and they were good. Now it would be a gamble.