or Connect

Posts by ex Navycook

I'm considering getting the CCC certification with the ACF. I'm not really into the ACF or certification, but I need a goal. Something to strife for. I am taking this seriously and know it won't be easy. I'm currently a line cook but I have past management experience when I was in the Navy that meets the requirements for eligibility. Of course I have to prove it. I even took three practice written tests for CCC and my lowest score was an 80% which gives me a good base for...
There are several options for veterans. I myself used the post 9/11 GI Bill and went to Johnson & Wales University basically for free and got two degrees. Your from New York which has a few good culinary schools including Culinary Institute of America (CIA) in Hyde Park which is by far the best known school. I agree with Senior Chief that you should get a job in a restaurant and work your way back up. It will suck, trust me but you will learn a lot and you can show your...
Thanks IceMan this is a good recommendation from what i read about it and very affardable. Thank you
Hello all, I am looking to buy a new chef knife. I was using an 8" Kikuichi knife that I loved for over three years. Unfortunately last week at my internship another intern used my knife without my knowledge used m beloved knife while I was out weeding the garden and some how broke it. I know that suckes so bad but i can't turn back time and she paid me what I bought it for. Again unfortunately i bought it for $80. that's not going to buy me another Kikuichi but that's...