or Connect

Posts by ChefHoff

I totally agree with Brandon that you should get involved with one of the personal chef networking organizations.  They also have recipe and planning software that makes the business side way easier, but like Ed said the biggest thing is to be a people person.  To be a good personal chef, sales and people skills are needed more than cooking skills.  Obviously your cooking chops need to be up to snuff, but to make it, it is all about sales and schmoozing.  To get your...
Back when I was a line cook, I was working saute station with another guy.  It was the end of the night and we were breaking down our station.  I was pulling the sauces from the cold wells and transferring them to a lexan to bring to the walk-in.  Little did I know that my co-worker pulled the cast iron range grates and had them on the floor to be sprayed down.  I grabbed the bin and started for the walk-in not really being able to see the floor clearly with the giant...
There are a lot of things I'm not particularly fond of, but will eat if served  to not offend the chef (or cook).  However, Canned tuna (especially packed in oil) and lutefisk I have trouble even being in the same room with and will never eat. 
Another crazy concept, but it does work (especially in fridge)  Drill a bunch of small holes in a 2 liter plastic bottle.  Fill the bottle with aquarium carbon (make sure holes are smaller than filter carbon bits)  Place in front of fan on high.  Works pretty well.  It works great to remove smells from fridge but obviously you don't need the fan.