or Connect

Posts by Paul Alfred

I was in the Air Force for seven years, and while I was not a cook for the military I do believe that many things I learned while in the service have been a BIG help now that I work in a kitchen.  Compared to how I was before my military service, I now handle stressful situations with a calmer, more level head, I take criticism well, and I am far more disciplined and focused.  There are many other things that I have been able to apply from my time in the Air Force to my...
I am an advocate for learning via an apprenticeship, such as you are currently doing.  That is how I got started in the culinary field, and my brother did as well.  I'm now a line cook in a great hotel and a promising future with them, and my brother is an executive chef for a hotel where he lives.  I could list many more people I know who are doing well as chefs who never attended school, just as I could list an equal number of friends I know and work with who have gone...
dcarch,   Those look great...now I'm hungry, lol!  
I'm not sure what company we buy our hydroponics from, but I know they're not from a local grocery store.  We have deliveries about once a week from a company that brings us our organics and our hydroponics.  They are quite likely locally grown though since we try to buy as much as is feasible from local farms and such; besides, I'm pretty sure the hydroponic plants wouldn't survive long shipping distances.  Also, our plants are entirely grown in hydroponic pods, and not...
I'm a huge fan of Oxy-Clean.  I've used it a lot, letting my chef whites soak over night and then washing them.  I've not (yet) had any stains that haven't come out that way.