or Connect

Posts by thatchairlady

Seem to remember seeing thin sliced potatoes (for scalloped or gratin-ed) getting a 2-3 minute boil/blanch first... Maybe on Cooks Country or ATK??  Something to do with preventing that watery thing that sometimes happens?  You would THINK, if you can bake a big one in maybe an hour, thin sliced should cook faster??
I'm NOT an expert, but do have "mad scientist" moments.  I know you can by magnetic sheets... like stuff fridge magnets are made of.  What if you cut a piece a bit longer than blade and twice as wide.  Do a light score (with exacto or something similar)... JUST deep enough to allow  nice easy fold, but not deep enough to cut thru.  Then you could just fold over blade edge.
First thought is OLD peas??  Have had same results with legumes of unknown age??   Whenever I have a nice ham bone, totally torn...split pea or navy bean soup?!?  I NEVER soak split peas??  Just put bone and veggies (onion, celery, carrots) in big pot of water and dump in a bag-o split peas.  results are what we call"exorcist" soup... thick and creamy.
I know some people totally SHUN non-stick, but I have to praise Calphalon.  Bought a 2-pack of skillets at BBB for maybe $50.  Was pretty good to them for SEVERAL years.  If I did use metal utensils, was VERY careful/gentle.  Usually hand-washed but did put in dishwasher on a few occasions.   A year or so ago, was noticing that they werent quite as non-stick and had heard about C's return/replace policy and decided to give it a try.  Did have to pay a few dollars to send...