or Connect

Posts by ChicagoTerry

Oh, good! I'm so glad!
So, Ms KK--did you try the herbed potato salad? If you did, I hope you liked it.
I had shakshuka: a tomato, sweet pepper, garlic, harissa and cumin sauce with a couple of eggs broken into it and poached/steamed until perfectly cooked and served with a spoonful or two of Greek yogurt, all scooped up with pita bread.
There is a woman chef in my neighborhood, self-taught,  a friend of a friend, who did an underground "tasting" menu in her apartment on weekends by appointment only for awhile, I never went to the tasting but I did have a brisket she cooked at a party once and it was outstanding. She now has a legit restaurant where she does a tasting menu made of thing she has foraged or hunted or grown herself and it is communal style tables and an hours- long production. I've heard it...
I'm extremely lucky to be on the far north side of the city, which has long been a "port of entry" area for immigrants from all over the world. Within a mile or so of my apartment I can source any ingredient you can think of. The only thing I have to go a bit out of my way for is the Korean market since the one near me closed then reopened as a giant Middle Eastern supermarket. Consequently, my spice and condiment cabinet overflows. I love ethnic markets and do almost all...
I have eaten it the 2nd day and I think it tastes even better, although it isn't quite as green. I think it's the basil darkening.  The color is better if you use a white balsamic vinegar. With the red it tastes good but the color is a little muddy. I know, the last thing any of us probably need to buy is yet another type of vinegar, but it's very versatile. It's a little tangier than red balsamic and it's good in dressings and in deglazing without turning whatever it is...