or Connect

Posts by ChicagoTerry

Ditch the Tim Ferriss. He is not a cookbook writer, a cook or, even, a knowledgeable food writer. He is a food supplement entrepreneur, an angel investor, a tech consultant and a self-styled  lifestyle guru who has written facile books on living the life of the wealthy while only working 4 hours a week, building your body on 4 hours of exercise a week, etc. He knows nothing of value on food or cooking. I sell books for a living. I would never recommend this book to...
Most of the Cuisinart care info tells you not to heat it over very high heat. Barkeeps's Friend--the powder variety, not the liquid- is good for keeping it clean & shiny without marring it. Depending on which line you have, the utensils you should use will vary.They do not recommend using metal utensils on almost any of their lines.     Here is a simple comparison chart they produce with the basic care instructions for each of their cookware...
My model is so old it hasn't  been made for years--possibly decades. The company no longer exists. I will keep it for as long as it lasts because it is very, very simple and, so,  has outlasted many of my neighbors' newer models by years.   I was just looking at one neighbor's stove (her third in the time I've had my ancient one) and I never realized before that it is even narrower than mine. Hers is 20 inches wide. She never, ever bakes anything because she can't fit...
That looks heavenly!   Another nice addition when you are roasting with garlic and rosemary is to stuff half an anchovy into the incisions along with the garlic and rosemary. The anchovies sort of disappear, leaving behind only their umami essence.
You might want to look at how the spice entries in The Flavor Bible and The Vegetarian Flavor Bible by Karen Page and Andrew Dorenburg are laid out.