or Connect

Posts by ChicagoTerry

Oh, @OregonYeti, I was thinking there is no one food I feel this way about but then you mentioned India. Never been, but there is a kind of sev available in the self-serve snack bins at one of the grocery stores in the S. Asian neighborhood here that I cannot bring home in any but the most moderate quantities. I could eat it by the pound.
I'm an adventurous home cook with many other very good cooks as friends and cupboards stuffed with every ethnic ingredient you can imagine, but I'm not a serious foodie.That just seems like more expense, effort, and seriousness than I can expend. My day-to-day food is always very healthful. I have many good ethnic markets with good, fresh, interesting vegetables I like to make cakes. Everyone smiles at you when you walk down the street carrying a cake.    Blogs I visit...
I wonder if a longer rest in the brine would help. I thought 12 hours did not seem like enough time.
The war in the former Yugoslavia brought many Bosnian refugees to my neighborhood and with them came new-to-me foods. One of my favorites was a roasted pepper and eggplant condiment called Ajvar. There are mild and hot varieties, imported in jars from Turkey, Croatia, Macedonia, and Bosnia. It may not be easily found everywhere, but a healthy spoonful of the mild variety transformed my tuna salad recipe from tasty to delicious. It's good on eggs and in egg salad, too. It...
There are several good fusion places here in Chicago--mostly quick, take out places. Most of them seem to be Korean + some other cuisine.   Bop n Grill--Korean/burger place. Their kimchi burger and umami burgers are fabulous.   http://www.bngrill.com/   Big and Little's fish and  Poke tacos are delicious.   http://www.bigandlittleschicago.com/menus     Urban Belly and Belly Shack--also Korean + fusion. Both...