or Connect

Posts by markherm13

I have been working for 10 years now and I have a passion for cooking. For the sake of keeping this post short; I want to cook, I find joy in creativity and farm to table environments. Getting to know who and where your food comes from is a beautiful thing to me. I just feel I can't find my niche and am frustrated. It's hard to be passionate about something and willing to put in the work, but not find your place in the industry. Anyone every had to deal with an issue...
I am at a crossroads in my career: I am 29 years old and have been self taught for the most part. A few Sous Chef I have worked for have taken a liking to me bc of my passion of the art and taught me too. I am currently in New Orleans and have been extended a job offer at arguably the best restaraunt in town, the same place Emeril Lagasse gained him fame as an executive chef. So, to cut the fat and get to it; does job experience at a nationally recognize restaraunt hold...
Hello everyone, My name is Mark and I at a crossroads in my career. I have been a line cook for almost 10 years and I have made a decision that, for me, I need some sort of certification or degree to take my career to the next level. I have heard programs at community colleges are affordable and are great if you plan to stay in the area, but are not necessarily recognized nationally like some of the big name programs (JWU, CIA, FCI, ect) that cost much more. Certifications...
I am writing a letter to the Executive Chef at the Charlotte country club trying to get my food in the door to stage there. i started a rough draft, am I headed in the right direction?   To Chef,       I am a cook from Augusta, Georgia, very interested in staging under you and your expertise. I have the passion and desire to have a successful career and want to learn from a professional with the advanced education, employment credentials and overall success in...