or Connect

Posts by Steve TPHC

Cane or Beet may be used to make granulated sugar?” A discussion of both of these can be found on:http://www.dixiecrystals.com/sugar-101/cane-sugar-vs-beet-sugarDixiecrystals makes this important statement:"Pure cane sugar is non-GMO. Dixie Crystals does not use genetically modified plants in any of our pure cane sugar products. Beet sugar can be derived from genetically modified plants. The U.S. does not require labels to designate whether the sugar is derived from sugar...
The way you learn anything is by learning. Hard to learn "a taste" unless you first taste it. Choose what your MOST interested in. Find a highly rated place that serves the food you want to learn.   You'll never be a great chef unless you use great ingredients. As a cookbook author, I highly recommend books. These great chefs have great book recommendations. Try them!
The King of All Spices Azafran, Saffron is the worlds most expensive spice at it adored for it aromatic aroma. I have had both Iranian and Spanish premium versions that are made entirely from just the red stigmas. If you see thread of yellow stamens they add weight but no real flavor. The premium stuff has no yellow stuff. I use this for Spanish paella, Italian risotto, French bouillabaisse, and Iranian rice. I usually pay about $6/ gram ($170/ounce). I found 106...
Expensive European Mayonnaise that come in Tubes   I was used to Best Foods (aka Hellmann's West of the Rockies)) but when I moved to Italy, only names such as Thomy Delikatess, Calve, Triglia were available that are small tubes and quite expensive. Their flavors are excellent. Thomy is Swiss and very good. French (Benedicta) and German (Van Wijngaarden) versions also contain some mustard. Thomy is also available in larger jars but depending where you buy it, it can be...