or Connect

Posts by Steve TPHC

Dear Paul:   Do not pay much attention to negative feedback. I was asked a longtime ago to invest in  a startup chain called Starbucks. I said: “I don’t think that will catch on.”   Where there is a will there is always a way. Maybe find someone who is catering needs some help. (Job search “catering help wanted”) Many kitchen open only for breakfast; their kitchen is for rent other times of the day. In addition, the lower entry cost starting a food truck may be...
I will bet this was great!
Lasagna is different through out Italy. I like all varieties but prefer Lasagna di Ricotta Romana. This is a variety that uses a rich flavorful tomato-guanciale garlic sauce and a white sauce fortified with finely ground Parmigiano. The sheet pasta is layered in many thin layers. My version includes no meat, no eggs, no greens but five cheeses: Parmigiano Reggiano, Asiago, Romano, ricotta, and buffalo mozzarella.   For the sauce, use Elena’s...
As an guest chef, I taught at a a Savory Spice Shop in Greensboro, NC. I like them a lot since the freshness of their spices are guaranteed. The selections are excellent including some special blends that I find wonderful.  If you study their lists, you may find things that you did not even know about. These are some of my more useful/uncommon selections Mesquite Smoke Flavoring Pimenton De La Vera, dulce (smoked paprika) (see recipe Potatoes Catalan) Jamaican Jerk...
Vicki’s Chuck Wagon Beans - a Huckleberry Above a Persimmon   During the long cattle drives, the chuck wagon was the headquarters of every cattle outfit along the trail. The cowboys ate their meals there and where a recounting of the day and the smell over overcooked coffee took place. Skippy, the most popular man in camp, cause he was cook, did not take to a lot of back talk. When the trail boss mentioned, “Beans again ?” almost under his breath.   Skippy took off...