or Connect

Posts by Phaedrus

I feel for you, man.  I'm 47 and while I've been lucky to have avoided any serious health issues I know it can't last forever.  There's no Plan B for me either; I've been in the kitchen since I was 14, don't know any other way to live my life.
I suppose part of it is differing expectations.  My sous cuts staff right in front of me all the time, and that's part of why I hired the guy!  He's a take-charge guy and he takes charge of a lot of stuff that I don't have time or inclination to do.  That frees me up to do that stuff only I do (eg menus, orders, etc).   Still it's important for everyone to know their place.  You set the boundaries, and if she oversteps then you have to pull the leash a little bit.  I'd...
For the most part the kitchen is a meritocracy, one of the few left out there where anyone can work their way from the lowest ranks to the highest.  Work hard and you'll be good.
Okay, obviously I am a chef because I haven't won the lottery yet.  But occasionally we all get little reminders of why we do this job as opposed to selling cars or something.  Today was one of those little things that confirms that I'm in the right place. A woman called in to see if we had broccoli cheese soup today.  We get a lot of older folks at lunch and soup is a big draw for them.   A few days ago I made a small batch to use up some cheese samples that a vendor had...
I will confess to liking quite a few gross mass market items.  I like the shrimp fries that come in a bag at the asian store (even WM has em).  I like gummi bears.  My favorite packaged mac and cheese isn't even the expensive stuff with the foil packs of cheese- I prefer the $.25 boxes with toxic waste orange cheese powder.  When I was a little kid my grandma fixed that for me after school so I guess it reminds me of those days.   My ultimate guilty pleasure is Shin...