or Connect

Posts by Mezzaluna

No big deal Amy. We won't rescind your membership.  The pros had been deluged with questions akin to "How do I boil an egg?" which were better-left to us home cooks, so we changed our policies a while back to let them deal with issues like "What's the best serve poached eggs during a six hour brunch service for 1,240 people?" You can see we cook in different culinary worlds!    I have pickled cucumbers and green tomatoes according to my grandmother's cold salt brine...
Hi Chris, and thanks for the intro. I'm a home cook too and usually do things from scratch as well mostly because I can't stand the amount of salt in processed food. Also, I was taught to cook from scratch so it's most natural to me. As a young person, were you mostly self-taught, or were there inspirations you had that gave you the basics and desire to advance?   Chef Talk has a lot going for it, and I hope you explore it all: discussion forums, cooking articles, photo...
Hello Joe, and thanks for introducing yourself. We're glad you found us and hope you'll contribute your own knowledge and expertise to the mix of ideas here. The mix of people here includes experienced and newbie home cooks as well as professionals because we know knowledge about food can come from unexpected sources. Perhaps you were inspired to cook by your mother or grandmother, or by someone else who showed you for the first time that cooking was your passion. We hope...
Hello Melissa- thank you for your introduction. I see you have visited the culinary students forum already, and that will be a big help as you prepare for the adventure which awaits you.    You can also benefit from reading in the professional chefs' forums. However, until you are a pro yourself, you must consider them as "read only" and post in the students forum and general forum. Since the professionals visit all the forums, you'll hear from them there. Besides the...
This one looks good, @Koukouvagia