or Connect

Posts by rlyv

I worked in a restaurant where a three deck oven was all we had in the pastry department. We baked wedding cakes, cupcakes, everything and it was fine. I use a convection oven now, and cakes bake fine in it as well. But, it has a control for the fan to be on low, so I use that and have no issues.
Well, I don't really agree with that.While I don't have any issues using corn syrup where needed, I wanted one that wasn't so sickly sweet. Growing up in the south, I had some way over the top sweet pecan pies. The recipe I posted above had nice flavor, and didn't hurt me the way others have. It had the same curd like custard-y texture, and was pecan pie.
Well, it won't be truly white since cocoa butter is yellow. Many of the candy melt type wafers do come in white, but they are not truly chocolate (which technically, white chocolate isn't either). They have titanium dioxide in them to make them really white, and fats other than real cocoa butter. I've never seen white coloring that is oil based, which would be needed for coloring chocolate. You could search for it. There is white colored cocoa butter, but on its own,...
I really like this one I found on Eddy Van Damme's website several years ago. I think the actual web address is at the bottom. Pecan pie without corn syrup Yield: 2 – 9 inch pies 6 Large eggs 6 12 oz Water 240 g 1 lb 12 oz Medium brown sugar 840 g 1 tsp Salt 5 g 4 oz Butter, melted 120 g 1 oz Dark Rum, Cognac or Brandy 30 g 1 tbsp Vanilla extract 15 g 1 lb Pecan halves 480 g 4 oz Chocolate (58-64% cocoa mass) 120 g Line 2 pie tins with sweet tart dough and prebake....