or Connect

Posts by Praties

Just a suggestion, but you'd probably have better luck with this in the Recipes section - http://www.cheftalk.com/f/11/recipes or even the general Food & Cooking section.  The only folks that'll see it here are those looking for reviews of cooking equipment.
Codfish cakes?  Boring and yet a comfort food.  
I don't use cooking spray, but a little dab of Crisco/shortening in the corners of the pan really helps.  You can also tear off the size sheet you need and pull it contra-curl side at an angle against the edge of the counter-top (or a table; whatever has a nice sharp edge).  It's like putting curl into wrapping ribbon, but you're pulling it the against the curl to take the curl out.  It works, but the ends are still a little curl-ish.  (And thank you auto-correct for...
I have never had a babka, so I'm no expert, but they look really tasty to me.  The rise looks good, as well.  I think you'll be getting some very positive feedback!
Swiss steak, pot roast, Swedish meatballs, meatloaf...all favorite fall/winter dishes around here.  Great...I'm now old enough to be "retro".  
Last night was boring since it was dinner in a hurry--broiled flat-iron steak, sliced thin and brussels sprouts.  Tonight, though, I'm going to sauté some sliced mushrooms in butter, throw in some tarragon, deglaze with some red wine.  Let that reduce a bit, throw in the leftover steak just long enough to heat through and stir in some sour cream off the heat and serve it over toast.  It sounds good in my head, just hoping it turns out well on the plate.
Well, wine soon, if that counts.  :D  The grapes are just about ready to be harvested.