or Connect

Posts by Erik

Pff.....a little while back my art student cousin started asking me weird cake and icing questions. Turns out she was making a cupcake large enough for her and 2 of her classmates to sit in and pick at for an art show. Can't seem to find any pictures, but THAT was a giant cupcake ;) P.S. It was a lot of 9x13 cakes stacked, iced on top with "shortening-cream"
I agree with M Brown. Take the degree. You can actually get a surprisingly good education at a community college. I got my degree from one, and have many times felt I had the better education than friends and coworkers who got more expensive educations. But then again, maybe I just paid better attention in my classes ;)
It has always amused me how many people also think this has to do with the alcohol it was made with ;)
If I am remembering right, Madagascar is by far the largest producer, at least as of 2004. Had to do a large research project on it my first quarter of culinary school. If i'm remembering wrong, well, it was a very busy quarter ;) Also, labeling one the best would have to be a little subjective, as they all have slightly different flavors.
My higher-ups, unfortuately, seem ambivalent toward saving labor, food cost, baking science, or anything else you would think they should care about. I used to think it was really strange, now I just think it is amusing. But, they pay me well, and if they want me to keep throwing away alot of moldy cake yeast (believe me, this has all been brought to their attention may times before) then I guess it is their business. Just wanted to make sure you all didn't know...