or Connect

Posts by GreaseChef

In Canada, there actually was a law introduced that said that you can not feed your servants lobster more than once a week. All that to say that I like escargot, and a host of other classics. I too am not a fan of either liver or brains, but I am open to eating almost anything else. The more ingredients the better, I say! Give me snails, lobster, fiddle heads, bone marrow, and any other thing you can think of. Derek
Hi everyone, I was a member here, but haven't posted in nearly two years. Here is the story, I am a chef manager at Stowe Mountain Resort, owned by AIG the insurance company. The incompetence at the upper management level is astounding. All orders are placed through our in house buyer who then buys strictly from US Foods. Even worse, the office changes orders and product regularly, so accepting deliveries is always a frustrating surprise. The paperwork that I need to...
I haven't visited the site in almost two years. I decided to come back as I am tired of living in Northern Vermont and want to move back to civilization. I am thinking that Virginia would be a nice place to go. So, I am here to network, and possibly visit new places and work a few days in exchange for a place to put my head at night. Derek
I've only worked under one female chef, she went vertical on everything. http://www.regattaofcotuit.com In contrast, a couple of male chefs that I have worked for used the whole plate, very flat presentation. (I prefer stacked.) That table could have said every plate that they had anywhere was done by a male chef and been right 80-90% of the time. At least from what I have seen in the industry, females in the chef position are the minority.