Go To ChefTalk.com
    Cooking ArticlesCookbook ReviewsCooking ForumsRecipesCooking Glossary  

Welcome to the ChefTalk Cooking Forums forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   ChefTalk Cooking Forums > Professional Food Service Forums > Professional Catering Forum
Register Blogs Photo Gallery FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Professional Catering Forum Professional caterers can share their experiences and ideas here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:21 PM
tigerwoman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 219
tigerwoman is on a distinguished road
Default internet scam - caterers beware

I posted about this on catersource and there are 15 replies already today - so this is definitely a scam and is going around the country and even into Canada

Both Jackie (a fellow NYC caterer and good friend) and I got this email this morning) and were very suspicious independently. I noticed it was addressed to her and thought she had forwarded it on to me but apparently I was part of a blind list. The only connection we can figure out is either catersource or LCA so we wanted to alert you to a possible scam. Not sure what the story is but this seems rather fishy – some sort of internet scam possibly. Did anyone else get a similar email? (OK my suspiscions were confirmed as other caterers from California, Tennessee, Pennsylvania etc have been getting this email)_


From: allan green [mailto:all_green200010@yahoo.com]
Sent: Wednesday, August 09, 2006 6:46 AM
To: EVExxx@AOL.COM
Subject: Enquiry.

Hello,
My names are Mr Allan Green working with the British airways.I'm based in london and i'm preparing to wed on the 30th day of august 2006.
As a matter of fact,i got a reliable information regarding your good services and i will like to know if you can be of help regarding this grand event with your services.
Actually the wedding will take place in the states and i'm being sponsored to this effect.
Rightnow,i want to make choices regarding what it takes to have a good wedding and my sponsor will make a payment after having a definite arrangement.
I can be reached with the number below and my contact information is as follows.
Mr Allan Green,
Address:22 Malvern Road, St Johns,
Worcester, Worcestershire
WR2 4LQ, England, UK.
PH:+447024077512.
You can call me on the phone for more information,but if you can't,email me with futher information because i'm closer to the computer everyday.
When we are done with arrangements,my sonsor will supply you with his credit card information for you to get payment from there,so i will like to get a response from you if you have the machine to charge credit cards or not.
Your urgent response is needed.
Allan Green.

it turns out that what he does is ask you to pay car rentals, or fashion designer bills for him and then put it through on the credit card which of course is stolen and eventually gets charged back to you- most of the caterers seemed to have had good radar in detecting that this was not a kosher deal but in any event let's out the son of a gun and prevent him from wasting our time or stealing our money. Pass this on to other caterers and groups and don't get sucked in.
__________________
Chef Tigerwoman

Stop Tofu Abuse...Eat Foie Gras...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-11-2006, 04:21 AM
kuan's Avatar
Registered User
Culinary Experience: Professional Chef
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,792
kuan will become famous soon enough
Default

From WORCESTERSHIRE?!??? LOL!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2006, 10:04 AM
tigerwoman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 219
tigerwoman is on a distinguished road
Default yeah a real dufus

spelling and grammar wasn't a strong suit in this email but then again alot of clients cannt spell. As long as they can sign the check and it doesnt bounce......
__________________
Chef Tigerwoman

Stop Tofu Abuse...Eat Foie Gras...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beware of Canola Oil Dagger Food & Cooking Questions and Discussion 8 08-16-2005 09:57 AM
Possible Scam on Cheese catciao Professional Catering Forum 3 02-25-2005 09:26 AM
Where have all the caterers gone? marmalady Professional Catering Forum 5 07-20-2002 03:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
© 1998 - 2006 ChefTalk.com • All rights reservedAd Management by RedTyger

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118