is that cool or what KYH.
We have one about 30 minutes drive away too that still runs on water power. The only sad thing is they only grind one type of flour (organic WW) at their mill. They sell all organic flours, in different varieties, but the others, all their whites and other grains are just buy & sell. They will call me when they do a grind so we can get fresh flour which is nice. Their WW is awesome, too bad they don't do more.
I didn't know til recently that it was such a dangerous thing to mill, that you could blow the place up in an instant if your millstones got too close together and made a spark.
Nice to try to help keep those places in business.
phatch, strictly speaking other gluten containing grains like rye, barley, etc., none have exactly the same type of "gluten" as wheat. Gluten is sort of an umbrella term really, but wheat gluten is different than the "gluten" in other grains. The glutenin and gliadin you get from wheat are wheat thang. In rye, the prolamin is secalin, oats it's avenin, corn it's zein. Corn gluten meal has become popular in organic lawn care as a pre-emergent herbicide. Now I understand even celiacs can eat corn gluten meal, because the zein is not problematic to them the way some others are like gliadin, secalin. In a purist sense one might want gluten to mean only wheat gluten, but "gluten" has come to describe not just wheat gluten but also the very similar proteins in other gluten containing grains like rye for instance. I've learned how rye gluten behaves differently than wheat and am getting much better at making ryes. Wheat gluten is pretty unique for it's breadbaking properties. I've read (or tried to read:rolleyes: ) a couple books on cereal science, I assure you corn gluten is not a snuffleuppagus, it does exist, though it is different than wheat gluten, as are all the other "gluten" containing grains like rye.
Diplomacy says we can both be right, that there's no gluten in corn, or that there is corn gluten. I guess what would be the truest way to say it is that there's no wheat gluten in corn. But there's corn gluten in corn.
OK shut up stir and go bake something:lol: