IceMan, It actually could make a difference. Some sugar producers still uses bone char in the final stages of production to filter white sugar. Not all do, but enough do that it would be worth paying attention to it if you're concerned with being strictly vegan or even vegetarian. If I remember correctly it is only done with cane sugar and not beet. The turbinado sugar doesn't go through that stage so real cane turbinado sugar would still be vegan/vegetarian. This is something I didn't learn until a few days ago and it was kind of surprising to me. I know this was an old post but I just had to comment.