Chef Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm only a very amateur cook - though I do enjoy trying to act as if I were a chef. I would really appreciate your thoughts (and suggestions) with respect to kitchen knives.

A decade ago, I bought my current knives... individually from Sainsburys. From memory, the prices ranged from ~£35 for a large chefs knife; £28 for a medium; £15 for paring; £25 for a bread knife; £15 for a medium serrated knife (is it intended for fruit - not sure) and £25 for a seriously dangerous-looking clever-thing that could be used in an emergency to chop firewood. The thing I liked most about these knives was that they were single-piece stainless steel - which meant I was absolutely certain they were clean when they came out of the dishwasher... no join with the handle - I love that part of the design - I still love their aesthetic. While the cleaver, bread knife and small serrated knife are still perfect, I am dissatisfied with the other knives. The medium ~8" knife has been dropped - and something has broken inside the handle... One can hear the knife rattling and ringing like a bell when picked up. I struggle to get a sharp edge on the large ~10", medium ~8", and small paring knife.... perhaps because I lack skill - but, I suspect, the knifes themselves also have something to do with this. In the past, my knives were sharpened by someone who had knives as sharp as I'd like mine... that sharpening did much better than my efforts - but my knives never did compare with his (which had been bought in the 1970s).