Chef Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
most of us have been there: the flying cast iron, the burning tongs, the non stop yelling all shift. but what about now?

I'm finding myself trying to be a chef that is sensitive to the changing times but i honestly hate it. it seems mutual respect is out the window, i can work 20hr days and nobody cares. i feel like i've fallen into a trap and i'm just now realizing i've been bamboozled. i have sous, managers, and cooks complaining that they worked 9hrs and they're exhausted...i literally don't even know what that means. as a cook, i never worked just an 8hr shift. i got there at 1 or 2 and stayed until the job was done, and sometimes that meant cleaning till 2am with your shift drink(s). I get that that's no life and ppl deserve better. i guess i'm just having difficulty understanding how people got to thinking that cooking was a simple job? and still want $24/hr plus tips. i understand cost of living is insane but isn't that a "write to your senator" kind of situation? does anyone has similar experiences? how do you deal with these new circumstances? i guess i'm just tired and i'm hoping to gain some wisdom. i love cooking and restaurants but i feel as tho no one else does, and its defeating.

·
Registered
3,392 Posts
The odds of creating and developing a kitchen crew that feels as you do is pretty slim.
9 hours is nothing to a kitchen person. You're right, people do not understand kitchen life.
That being said, it's 2022 and the general consensus these days is a 40-hour week, but that has not extended to the restaurant business. Franchises yes, standalone no.
The work still needs to get done, but all the crew wants is a paycheck with lots of praise for mediocre work.
What to do, what to do?

·
Registered
5,638 Posts