Chef Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
It's why almost all of our restaurants in the U.S. are average at best....

Damn near all the population is average at best, especially when it comes to work ethic.
It's why Michelin star restaurants are so incredibly RARE.

Is making amazing food to feed to a large quantity of people at a decent price really rocket surgery? No , but when you're working with a population that does not have a great work ethic nor the desire to posses a great work ethic ... Running a restaurant...
OR simply just WORKING in a restaurant becomes much harder if you're somebody who wants to do things the right way, and not half @ss things just to save .50 cents or 10 extra minutes of hard work.

·
Registered
103 Posts
All I'm saying is... I know what you mean.

I'm still VERY new to the industry , only been a line cook for 10 years now.

However, I know the MAIN reason this industry is looked at as "SO HARD" to succeed and have a good career in.... Is simply because , the people chefs have to work with in this country, are quite simply, LAZY.

If I could clone myself or another solid cook/chef that I know, I would have 3 or 4 Michelin star restaurants within a few years.
Am I that good? Hell to the NO. Am I better than 75% of the other people I've seen linecook in my life? Yeah.
As I say, "I suck, I'm not good, but I'm a lot better than the rest of these idiots."

Somehow I think...damn near any other industrialized country would be significantly easier to make amazing restaurants in.

·
Registered
103 Posts