Chef Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there fellow food industry professionals,
Im relatively new to this world and my uncle has asked me to help manage his restaurant and currently the way he orders supply is very old school and tedious. He spends about 6-8 hours a week doing price comparisons and talking with sales reps to negotiate and order his supplies. SO my question is:
Do you typically place orders online, through a distributor, or directly with suppliers? And how often do you make those orders – daily, weekly, monthly, or something else?
I'm also wondering about the challenges and considerations you face when it comes to ordering supplies. Do lead times, delivery schedules, or minimum order quantities play a role in your decision-making process?
Any insights or personal experiences you can share on this topic would be really helpful. I'm just trying to get a feel for how other restaurants and take-away shops handle their supply chain management, and see if there are any tips or tricks I can use at my own establishment.
Thanks in advance for any input you can provide!

· Premium Member
2,380 Posts
I'll get the ball rolling and hopefully others will chime in.
Kudos to your uncle for paying attention and investing the time. Too many owners don't and then can't figure out why they lose money. Without any more details about his process, I don't see six to eight hours a week to be overdoing it.
Much of the answer to your questions is.. It depends. All of the above. Everyone likes online everything now because it makes it easier for all concerned. But it also makes it easy for owners to ignore or forget about price comparison and it makes it easy for large suppliers to change the price without you noticing it. So you can end up paying more than you thought you were.