Chef Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that this topic has been done to death, and I HAVE read every related post, but I wanted to throw out my own circumstances for the usual criticism/critique/people telling me how much work it is...

I am living in a small town near a ski area (I'm being purposly vague)... We have busy winters and REALLY busy summers with dead seasons in the spring and early fall... I am a young cook (24) cooking since I was 14, I am currently holding two cooking jobs at fine dining restaurants (one brunch on weekends and breakfast and lunch on weekdays, the other working saute for a dinners only place)... I want to open my own restaurant because there is a glaring hole in the local cusine and I am sick of working for some of the people I work for (to be fair, some of the people I work for are great, but others are terrible)... As far as quality dinners go, the area has one botique pizza place, one mediocre italian pasta place, a fine dining southern/american place, and a fine dining steakhouse... That's it... All these places are PACKED in the summer, doing reservation only, three turns a night, big hits every night... and pretty busy in the winter... even on the slowest nights, we turn 75 covers...