Chef Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working in kitchens for 20 years now... I've done the gauntlet of kitchens in the country. From cookie cutter restaurants to one man kitchens to fine dining. Today I quit yet another job. I quit this kitchen like I've done every other kitchen in my life. I just disappeared. Today was during shift. Why? Because even if I am good enough I never feel good enough. I could be told by owners, by management, FOH,BOH wait staff whomever that I'm doing fine. I'm good. But I never believe it. I could never be good as anyone in any kitchen. I have some of the worst negative self talk. I have been told this by my peers, by therapist, and I continue to do this to myself and to businesses. My co worker came to my house after I quit this job today and told me to come back. Told me I folded. And I agree I did. But how am I supposed to get past it? I suck. I've never completed anything in life. I've never worked in a kitchen for longer than a year. Ever. I've never been not rehired if I've needed it. Like so I can't suck that bad. But It may be the the job market too. Guess I do suck.

·
Registered
4,851 Posts
Would you treat anyone, the way you are treating yourself? If the answer is no, then why are you doing it to yourself.

Reactions: JohnDB

·
Registered
4,851 Posts
My honest opinion is that you are not afraid to fail but you are scared sh#tless to succeed because if you do, you will lose any excuses that worked in the past and you will expect yourself to perform at 100%, 100% of the time, and that is a daunting task.

·
Registered
5,625 Posts
My training is exclusively cooking and baking, so I can’t help you with why you are doing what you do, or how to stop. That said, the day will come when your reputation as a quitter will bite you in the a$$ at a job interview.

·
Registered
486 Posts