Chef Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Im a culinary student and I recently had my knife set stolen from my car and Im looking to buy a new set. Im pretty sure i want to get the Wusthof Culinar Series but I wanted to know peoples opinions concerning Wusthof as well as other brands.

·
Registered
9,209 Posts
I'm not a pro, but I just invested in a set of Henkels Classic. I'm still getting to know them, but so far I'm in Henkels Heaven! The balance is wonderful. I do have one Global I love (5" all purpose), though.

·
Registered
1,985 Posts
I am sure there are as many opinions on knife sets as there are knives! For what it's worth, I say don't buy a new set. Buy one knife at a time and see what you like. You may like a Henkel 10" chef's knife, but hate the Henkel fillet. Conversly, you may like working a Russel pairing knife, etc, etc. Your knives are your trusty tools and as such, should be carefully selected, one at a time. I have a built a collection over the years that is neither expensive nor fancy (okay, okay one or 2 fancy ones). But, I know them and they know me.
Anyhow, sorry to hear your knives were lifted. GOod luck and choose wisely... have fun doing it.

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
I agree about not buying a set; see if you can try out different brands and models. I have to say I am a Wusthoff kind of gal, though! Bummer about your knives being stolen; I had the same thing happen at a catering event -I know it was one of the servers, but couldn't prove it. It was especially a bummer because some of the knives were presents from my hubbie. Sigh.

When you get ready to buy, check out Professional Cutlery Direct - www.pcd.com for great prices.

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
I'm glad you copped to it :)

·
Registered
818 Posts
Jim , Great advice . I have many different brands and I love them all dearly . Course Im kinda cheap so a lot of them are