Chef Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,
I seem to have missed this place entirely while cruising around these boards,
giving my two cents without proper introductions. Must be my ADD, because my mother's convinced she raised me right!

I am a chef- grew up in the film business and worked in that profession for a number of years, got tired of it and started cooking professionally after I had my kids.(I have 2).

I have been cooking for 15 years in different aspects of the industry-
restaurants, high end catering, and as a private chef.

My cuisine is based on two major influences - my Italian(Abruzzi) and my American Midwestern (Kansas) grandmothers. Both gave me a profound sense of their cultures through the food they cooked and I like to think I am the hybird of those styles- fresh, true, simple and good.Living in Los Angeles I have access to the most incredible variety of ethnic foods and these too play a major part in what I cook and eat. (Currently I can be found swooning in the aisles of a new Asian fish market I just discovered - they have an entire case of DURIAN FRUIT sitting out on the floor stinking up the place!)

I am in the process of opening a new restaurant - a digital supper club where you can eat, drink and watch movies in an elegantly designed space. I know there are places similar to this in NYC and San Francisco, but this is a first
for L.A.
It's a huge project as we are starting from bare space. and not only building a restaurant (and I've already done that a few times) but incorporating a huge amount of digital technology as well! Already the nightmares have begun...

It's been great to find these boards and read other's views outside of LA/SF/NYC. I look forward to reading more...

Peace.

:)

·
Registered
2,550 Posts
Hello Monkeymay and welcome to Cheftalk. Your project seems very interesting. Shall we count on you to fill us in as it develops?

:D

·
Registered
9,209 Posts