Chef Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a beginner at cooking and want to improve my technical skills. What are some skills I should hone to improve my experience as a home chef?

For example, knife skills, cooking eggs just to name a few.

·
Registered
4,508 Posts
My suggestion is to read a lot of recipes (and other materials) to learn how food flavors combine to make good tastes. Learn how to “taste the recipe” in your mind. Then cook, eat, and repeat… repeatedly. Practice will hone both your flavor skills and the mechanical cooking skills. Feed someone else who will give honest feedback.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Hi, I am a beginner at cooking and want to improve my technical skills. What are some skills I should hone to improve my experience as a home chef?

For example, knife skills, cooking eggs just to name a few.
To get started learning knife skills, take a class (if possible). I found it invaluable to get instruction and feedback. It allowed me to correct errors and improve knife skills and techniques.

If you are unable to take an in-person class, I recommend you take a look at this FREE knife skills class on Craftsy. It covers the fundamentals well. The following is what they cover. The entire sequence totals less than two hours.
  • Introduction
  • Essential Knife Skills
  • Shortcuts for Fruits, Veggies, and Herbs
  • Sharpening & Honing

I may not agree 100% with everything said and done, but it will help get you started for a very good price . . . FREE!

·
Registered
239 Posts
My suggestion is to read a lot of recipes (and other materials) to learn how food flavors combine to make good tastes. Learn how to “taste the recipe” in your mind. Then cook, eat, and repeat… repeatedly. Practice will hone both your flavor skills and the mechanical cooking skills. Feed someone else who will give honest feedback.