Chef Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if in right section so mods do feel free to move should you wish!

Might be taking the lease on a small restaurant premises very soon!
It was last trading as a burger place so though it best I start the menu off on that. But having never worked in a pastry section before my ideas are blank!

Anyone with a few simple Dessert recipes that will go down well after a burger and fires?

Thanks

· Registered
333 Posts
cheesecake, choc cake, pie , keep it simple, buy everything possible precut.
The last thing I'd want is to be in the weeds and someone orders a convoluted dessert.

if its lunch, i had a lunch cafe and can't recall selling any desserts at lunch, I'm a pastry chef but I bought most of the pastry at restaurant depot ( we did a lot of catering).
At lunch they just want to eat and scoot , at dinner they tend more to dine.

· Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
shakes, malts, ice cream cones, floats, sundaes
upscale them like a strawberry shortcake shake
Sorry you lost me there. so I go though then one by one

Shakes; Do you mean milk shakes?

malts; appart from beer brewing malt grain what ells is it?

Ice creams; do you think I should look at homemade ice creams, investing in all the equipment; or keep it simple at first with crappy supermarket ice cream?

What is a float?

sundaes; sundaes ice creams; A great idea for an upgrade on plain ice creams (see above) though!

upscale them like a strawberry shortcake shake; The google search provides two comply different recipes for this! please can you clarify?

· Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
cheesecake, choc cake, pie , keep it simple, buy everything possible precut.
Yes I can see that looks fairly simple, cheese cakes fairly simple to make and chock chip cakes just baking off flour and egg. and an apple pie very very simple