Chef Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This thing keeps showing up on my Instagram feed. At first glance it looks pretty cool, (holds your knife at the proper angle and easy sharpening). I've tried using whet stones a couple of times and I'm not very good at it. I know that sharpening takes practice but the Tumbler seems like a quick and easy way to get the job done.

What do you guys think?

· Registered
206 Posts
Sharpening is not putting an edge at the end of a piece of steel. It's more about restoring a previous configuration in another place, where the steel is slightly thicker. If you remove 1 millimetre of the width, the thickness behind the edge is likely to have doubled. A good reason to thin behind the edge prior to reaching the very edge.
The best edges match with the blade's geometry. As I'm right-handed, I want the right bevel to continue the arc formed by the right face.
These kind of devices totally ignore any geometry. No back bevel, no convexity.

· Registered
3,364 Posts
"I've tried using whet stones a couple of times and I'm not very good at it. I know that sharpening takes practice"

If by "whet" stone you mean oil then you'll probably never get good results with a kitchen knife. Water is the way to go and yes it takes practice, but anyone can learn to free hand sharpen + every knife's geometry is different. A good set (1000/6000) of Japanese water stones and some practice with set you free. There are 100s of videos on hand sharpening and caring for your blades. John Broida and Murray Carter are two that really stand out as educational. You can't give control of your edge over to a jig, or machine because they don't know what a particular knife wants.

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·